Disclaimer

Please be aware that the allergen information provided in this table should be used for guidance only. It is, to the best of all intents and purposes correct, however errors do occur. EU law only states that an allergen is to be declared if it is present. Therefore, not all suppliers will state “may contain”. Furthermore, all suppliers have different methods of risk assessing any potential allergen cross-contamination. The alibi statement column refers to additional information that has been submitted by the manufacturer. We therefore duly recommend that users refer directly with the manufacturer’s full specification if the information is required to complete legal food labels (available either, using a log-in online or on request) or the actual product label for guidance on allergens as this will provide the latest information.

How to use

To search for an item, enter the BAKO Product code in the box below. The table underneath will automatically display the item along with the relevant allergen information. To search for multiple items, key in the BAKO Product Code, tick the box in the left hand column, key in your next code and tick the box for each code required. Click the ‘Export selected products’ button below the table to download your product allergen information to a separate CSV file.

There are 14 major allergens that must be declared. These are:
1. Cereals containing gluten (i.e. wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, kamut or their hybridised strains), except:
(a) wheat-based glucose syrups including dextrose;  (b) wheat-based maltodextrins;  (c) glucose syrups based on barley;  (d) cereals used for making distillates or ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin for spirit drinks and other alcoholic beverages.
2. Crustaceans. Such as prawns, crabs and lobsters
3. Eggs.
4. Fish, except:
(a) fish gelatine used as a carrier for vitamin or carotenoid preparations;  (b) fish gelatine or isinglass used as a fining agent in beer and wine.
5. Peanuts.
6. Soybeans (Soya), except:
(a) fully refined soybean oil and fat;  (b) natural mixed tocopherols (E306), natural D-alpha tocopherol, natural D-alpha tocopherol acetate, natural D-alpha tocopherol succinate from soybean sources;  (c) vegetable oils derived from phytosterols and phytosterol esters from soybean sources;  (d) plant stanol ester produced from vegetable oil sterols from soybean sources.
7. Milk (including lactose), except:
(a) whey used for making distillates or ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin for spirit drinks and other alcoholic beverages; (b) lactitol.
8. Nuts, i.e. almonds (Amygdalus communis L.), hazelnuts (Corylus avellana), walnuts (Juglans regia), cashews (Anacardium occidentale), pecan nuts (Carya illinoiesis (Wangenh.) K.Koch), Brazil nuts (Bertholletia excelsa), pistachio nuts (Pistacia vera), macadamia nuts and Queensland nuts (Macadamia ternifolia),
except: nuts used for making distillates or ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin for spirit drinks and other alcoholic beverages.
9. Celery.
10. Mustard.
11. Sesame seeds.

12. Sulphur dioxide and sulphites at concentrations of more than 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/litre expressed as SO2.
13. Lupin.
14. Molluscs. Such as mussels and oysters.

Please note:

There is no specific legal requirement to label food with ‘may contain’. However, food must be safe to eat and information to help people with allergies make safe choices,
and manage their condition effectively. As such you may feel this is a prudent addition to your labelling.